Clinical Approaches To Pain Management

2nd Byron Integrative Medicine Health Conference

Clinical Approaches to Pain Management

Keynote Speakers

Professor Mark Cohen MBBS(Hons), PhD, BMedSc(Hons)
Prof Cohen is currently the Founding Professor of Complementary Medicine at RMIT University, and President of the Australasian Integrative Medicine Association. In addition to being qualified in western medicine, he has degrees in Chinese medicine, biomedical engineering, physiology and psychological medicine. He is the co-author along with Leslie Braun of Herbs and Natural Supplements: An Evidence Based Guide.

Dr Russel Vickers Ph D.MSc Med. MDSc. BDS. D Hom. D.Botanical (Herbal) Med.
Dr Vickers is an oral maxillofacial surgeon in Sydney and is a senior clinical lecturer in the Faculty of Medicine, University of Sydney. He has been involved in diagnosing and treating complex orofacial pain at the Pain Research Clinic, Royal North Shore Hospital since 1992. His PhD was in the molecular chemistry of peptides. Russell has published 1 book and 18 research publications in clinical pain and analytical laboratory chemistry.

The Chair

Professor Stephen Myers BMed (Newcastle), ND (Southern School of Natural Therapies), PhD (Clinical Pharmacology) Chair of Natural & Complementary Medicine, SCU.
Prof Myers is the Director of NatMed, the research unit of the Department of Natural and Complementary Medicine at SCU. Stephen has been extensively involved with Naturopathic education at undergraduate and postgraduate level in Australia for the past 17 years. He is a member of the Complementary Medicines Evaluation Committee (CMEC), a committee of the Therapeutic Goods Administration.

Discuss the topic

Clinical Approaches To Pain Management

Clinical Approaches To Pain Management

Conference Highlights


Dr Russell Vickers

Introduction to pathology of neuropathic pain
and case study presentation.


Professor Marc Cohen

Discussion on the EBM complementary
approaches to pain

Professor Stephen Myers

Panel discussion chaired by Professor Stephen Myers.
Panel members: Dr Frank Wagner, Dr Chin Chan,
Chris Keevers , Dr Viv Griffiths, Jenni Prince, Mr Paul Orrock.